Board of Directors

The Canadian Association for Neuroscience is governed by the CAN Board of Directors, which is composed of neuroscientists from all geographical regions of Canada and of diverse areas of neuroscience research. Current members of the board are listed on the Board of Directors page. Members of the Board of Directors include the Executive Committee and Directors at large.

The Executive Committee is composed of the President, the President-Elect (Vice-President), the Secretary and the Treasurer. Duties of the executives can be found in the CAN bylaws.

The Nominations Committee is chaired by the Past-President of the Association. The Nominations Committee reviews all nominations for membership in the Board of Directors and Executive Committee, and prepares a slate of candidates for election if more than one suitable candidate is presented. The Nominations Committee also reviews all applications for the Young Investigator Award selects the awardee.

The President of the Association can establish Sub-Committees including members of the Board of Directors or other CAN Members to examine specific issues of interest to the membership.

Members of the Scientific Program Committee are responsible for the scientific content of the CAN Annual Meeting. They review parallel symposia proposals from the membership and determine which proposals will be accepted.

View the Equity, Diversity and Inclusivity subcommittee page

View the Advocacy webpage to learn more about the Advocacy Committee