Aaron A Phillips and Tabrez J Siddiqui win 2021 CAN Young Investigator Awards

Aaron Phillips Tabrez SiddiquiThe Canadian Association for Neuroscience is very proud to announce that Dr. Aaron A. Phillips, Assistant Professor at the University of Calgary,  and Dr. Tabrez J. Siddiqui, Associate Professor in the Department of Physiology and Pathophysiology at the University of Manitoba and a Principal Investigator at the Kleysen Institute for Advanced Medicine, will be awarded CAN Young Investigator Awards at the 2021 Canadian Neuroscience Meeting.

Read the winners’ profiles here:

Aaron A PhillipsTabrez J Siddiqui

2020 Turnbull-Tator Award in Spinal Cord Injury and Concussion Research

Brain Canada Foundation and the Barbara Turnbull Foundation for Spinal Cord Research are pleased to announce the launch of the second annual Turnbull-Tator Award in Spinal Cord Injury and Concussion Research.

This award aims to recognize an outstanding publication in the field of spinal cord and/or brain injury research (including concussion) in the last two years with a $50,000 prize. Applicants will need to demonstrate that their publication includes novel and groundbreaking results that represent a major advancement for the field.

The Turnbull-Tator Award competition is open to all active investigators in any phase of their career, graduate students, and postdoctoral fellows conducting research at a Canadian institution. Brain Canada and the Barbara Turnbull Foundation are committed to excellence through equity, and we encourage applicants of diverse backgrounds to apply to our funding opportunities.

The deadline for receipt of Applications is December 2, 2020 (16:00 EST).

Please refer to the Request for Applications for additional details.

Announcement of the call for the 2021 Joseph Altman Award in Developmental Neuroscience

The Japanese Neuroscience Society is now calling for nomination for the 2021 Joseph Altman Award in Developmental Neuroscience.
Application submission site opens on November 1st, 2020.
Application deadline is on January 31st, 2021

  • Scope of the Award: Research in developmental neuroscience at the tissue and cellular levels. The scope of the Award is not limited to phenomena during fetal or developmental stages; it also includes adult neurogenesis and its biological significance and its changes resulting from aging and diseases. (As a general rule, applied studies are not included within the scope of the Award.)
  • Eligibility: As a general rule, researchers who have received their doctorate or comparable academic degree less than 20 years prior to the application submission deadline. (Not limited to members of the Japan Neuroscience Society.)
  • Supplemental Prize: 10,000 USD (Fixed total amount if the Award is granted to two or more recipients.)
  • Selection Criteria: Submit three articles.
    One corresponding author article published within five years of the application deadline.
    Two first or corresponding author articles (no limitation of published year)
    Only original articles are evaluated, and review papers should not be included.

View full details on the Japanese Neuroscience Society website

Call for Submissions: 2021 Dr. Sam Lal Award

The Graham Boeckh Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Dr. Samarthji Lal Award.

Dr. Lal was a distinguished psychiatric researcher, and this award is given each year to honour his legacy. The award recognizes a researcher working in a Canadian institution in the field of mental health who is making an outstanding contribution to the field and demonstrates both scientific excellence and creative thinking. The 2021 award will mark the 11th anniversary of the award.

In order to be eligible, a researcher must be affiliated with a Canadian academic or clinical institution and be in the mid-stage of their career (7-15 years from their initial appointment) – under exceptional circumstances, the committee may consider a nominee outside this limit. Each candidate must be nominated by a colleague or mentor who is familiar with their work. The main submission requirements are a curriculum vitae, two letters of support and a brief description of how the candidate is making an outstanding contribution to mental health research. The Call for Submissions can be accessed here (to view the French version click here).

Award amount: $25,000 (CAD)
Deadline for submission of nominations: January 22, 2021

The Graham Boeckh Foundation would like to thank the communications partners for the Sam Lal Award: The Canadian Institutes for Health Research – Institute of Neurosciences, Mental Health and Addiction, the Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology, the Canadian Association for Neuroscience, the Canadian Psychological Association and the Canadian Psychiatric Association.