Science policy session

Science Policy session at CAN2018

Come talk science policy with Joyce Murray, Matt Jeneroux, Elizabeth May and Kennedy Stewart

Monday May 14th in Vancouver

Monday May 14th 2018, at 5:30 PM 

Organiser: Katalin Toth

Moderator: Jaideep Bains

Ever wondered how elected officials make decisions about science policy?  CAN has invited elected officials to participate in a conversation about science policy at the CAN2018 meeting, so you can ask them.  We are thrilled to announce that the following MPs have already accepted our invitation:

  • Matt Jeneroux, Conservative MP for Edmonton Riverbend, and Conservative Shadow Minister for Science
  • Joyce Murray, Liberal MP for Vancouver Quadra
  • Elizabeth May, Green Party MP for Saanich – Gulf Islands, and Leader of the Green Party
  • Kennedy Stewart, New Democratic Party MP for Burnaby South, and Science Critic of the NDP

This event will be an opportunity to build bridges between politicians and scientists, and to initiate a constructive relationship that will ensure that all Canadians reap the benefits that supporting fundamental research brings. Members of all major political parties will be invited to make a presentation about their vision for Canada’s role in promoting and supporting scientific research. This will be followed by a discussion panel with the audience.