BrightFocus Travel Award Winners – 2023

BrightFocus Travel Awards – New partnership for 2023

BrightFocus funds ground-breaking research in an urgent effort to discover cures for Alzheimer’s disease, macular degeneration and glaucoma, and provides expert information about these diseases. CAN is pleased to announce a new partnership with BrightFocus to support trainee participation in the CAN meeting for travel fellowships, including diversity fellowships.

All areas of neuroscience research were welcome and all trainees invited to apply, but priority was given to researchers working in the BrightFocus target areas of Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias, macular degeneration and glaucoma, and to members of under-represented groups including women, people with disabilities, ethnic minorities, people from a low socio-economic background, members of the LGBTQIA2S+ community, first generation PhD or MD for your family, and people attending smaller universities (non U15 universities in Canada).

Bright Focus Diversity Awards

Name Supervisor name Affiliation Province
Abrar, Fatima Dale Martin University of Waterloo ON
Akbarian, Niki Linda Mah University of Toronto, Rotman Research Institute ON
Ash, Alyssa Jason Snyder University of British Columbia, DM Centre for Brain Health BC
Bandeira Binder, Luisa Caroline Menard Université Laval, CERVO Brain Research QC
Barron, Jessica Matthew Parsons Memorial University of Newfoundland NL
Davies, Don Steven Connor York University ON
Eswaran, Akhila Anna Phan University of Alberta AB
Garden, Jessicca Richard Brown, Ian Weaver Dalhousie University NS
Kane, Erica Shawn Whitehead University of Western Ontario ON
Karimi Abadchi, Javad Majid H Mohajerani University of Lethbridge AB
Kropf, Erika Margaret Fahnestock McMaster University ON
McCabe, Lauren Aristotle Voineskos Centre for Addiction and Mental Health ON
Minary, Alexa Fuat Balci University of Manitoba MN
Petropavlovskiy, Andrey Shaun S. Sanders University of Guelph ON
Pietraszkiewicz, Paula Julie Lefebvre University of Toronto ON
Power, Saige Evelyn Lambe University of Toronto ON
Robinson, Danika Robert McDonald Lethbridge University AB
Rusu, Bianca Brian Kalish University of Toronto ON
Sepahvand, Tayebeh Qi Yuan Memorial University of Newfoundland NL
Sharma, Sorabh Craig Brown University of Victoria AB
Teasell, Elizabeth Arthur Brown Western University, Robarts Research Institute ON


Bright Focus Travel Awards

Name Supervisor name Affiliation Province
McKeever, Paul Janice Robertson University of Toronto ON
Mishra, Pranav Benedict C. Albensi University of Manitoba MN